History of Cincinnati State

Cincinnati State celebrated its 50th anniversary as a higher education institution during 2019-2020 academic year.

The college can trace its origins to the Cincinnati Cooperative School of Technology (CCST), a two-year technical institute for high school graduates that was established by the Cincinnati Board of Education in 1966.

  • The function of the school was to train technicians in a program combining college-level classroom instruction and cooperative work experience.
  • This program operated in a portion of the facility at 3520 Central Parkway, which at the time was also the home to Courter Technical High School and former home to Central High School. In its first year, the college offered only four degree programs.

In 1969, the State of Ohio established Cincinnati Technical Institute to serve the post-secondary public technical education needs of the area. Clifford R. House was named first president of the college.

  • The following year, the college entered into a contract with the Cincinnati Board of Education to purchase the Courter Technical High School property, where the College is located today.

In 1972, the name of the college was changed to Cincinnati Technical College (CTC). Courter Tech continued to share the facility until the high school ended operations at the site in 1974.

In 1976, Frederick Schlimm succeeded Clifford House to become the second president of the institution, and over the next decade the College grew steadily. During Schlimm’s tenure (1976-89), enrollment increased from 2,000 to more than 4,000 students, and the number of programs expanded from 35 to 45.

Dr. James Long became the third President of the college in 1990, and enrollment exceeded 5,000 students for the first time that year.

On July 27, 1993, the Cincinnati Technical College Board of Trustees voted to convert CTC to a state technical and community college. The name was officially changed to Cincinnati State Technical and Community College on September 1, 1994.

  • During the same month, the Health Professions Building (HPB) and Ludlow Parking Garage were opened, coinciding with the College’s 25th anniversary.
  • In May 1995, the State of Ohio approved the purchase of Cincinnati West Airport in Harrison, Ohio, to serve the aviation program at the College. An academic facility opened in 1998 at the airport.

On March 6, 1998, Dr. Ron Wright was inaugurated as the fourth president of the College. During his tenure, the College continued to grow.

  • In 2000, the College purchased the Workforce Development Center (WDC) in Evendale to serve as a site for corporate training programs including computer skills, hazardous materials and industrial maintenance training.
  • In September 2003, a second parking garage (Central Parkway Garage) was opened to serve the increasing student population, which hit the 8,000 mark earlier that year.
  • The Advanced Technology & Learning Center (ATLC) opened in November 2004, coinciding with the College’s 35th anniversary. The building houses the Midwest Culinary Institute, multimedia production studios, information technologies labs, student activities areas and other functions.

In 2007, Dr. John Henderson was appointed Interim President.

  • In September 2009, the College celebrated its 40th anniversary as enrollment surpassed 10,000 students for the first time.

In August 2010, the Board of Trustees appointed Dr. O’dell M. Owens to succeed Dr. Henderson, effective September 1, 2010.

  • In November 2010 Cincinnati State set another enrollment record, with 11,421 total students.
  • In April 2012 College officials signed an agreement with a private partner to rehabilitate an office building in downtown Middletown, Ohio, to serve as the base for a campus. The Middletown Campus opened August 29, 2012.
  • That date also marked the start of the College’s conversion to a semester-based academic calendar, ending its previous system of five academic terms per year.

In September 2014 the College marked its 45th anniversary with a week of Founders Days activities, including recognition of the faculty and staff members who served when the College began.

After Dr. Owens stepped down in September 2015, the Board of Trustees named then-Provost Dr. Monica Posey to serve as Interim President.

On June 13, 2016, the Board formally appointed Dr. Posey to become the sixth President of the College.

  • In December 2019, the College was authorized by the Higher Learning Commission to offer two baccalaureate degrees: the Bachelor of Applied Science in Land Surveying, and the Bachelor of Applied Science in Culinary and Food Science. Cincinnati State was one of only four public community colleges in Ohio approved for the initial offering of baccalaureate degree programs. 
  • In 2022 the College was authorized to offer the Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree.

Today, Cincinnati State offers more than 130 degree and certificate programs through its four academic divisions and the Workforce Development Center.